BLACKSTRANDS

My Braid-Out Set

I’ve been twisting and braiding my butt off, and I’ve finally got something worth sharing with my readers.

TRUST ME, what I’ve learned since being natural is that the key to finding different styles that work for you is experimentation. I thought I would love twist-outs, then tried them and not so much. lol

I eventually did get a pretty okay looking twist-out…but it was by accident. So goes to show that practice and trying different methods will eventually get you somewhere.

What I’m going to share is my second successful braid-out. I didn’t have time to document the first one :OP

First of all, I found that I like the look of braid-outs on my hair a lot more. I think they give my hair more wave/crimp definition and I also get a longer, stretched-out look (something I was trying to achieve with a twist-out). Maybe as my hair gets longer, I’ll experiment more with twist-outs, but right now I’m loving the braid-out.

Here’s my method:

1. I start by parting my hair into four sections- across the middle and down the middle from my crown. The way you make your major parts, is the direction your braid-out will fall or lay in. ex: if you want your hair to frame your face, part down the middle, and so forth.

2. I used perm rods (I think they are the 3/4 inch ones).

3. I started braiding my hair. I did 3 braids for each bottom section, and prob 5-6 for each top section. I had a total of 15-17 braids which only took about 45 min.

4. This was inspired by Curly Nikki’s twist-n-curl -  only I did braids instead of twists (now lovingly referred to as the braid-n-curl on her site).

**Also, I don’t just put the rollers on the ends, I roll the perm rods all the way to the root as if I’m doing a true spiral rod set. My hair is too short now to put anything on just the end. lol It would prob be easier to do that once I have longer braids.

5. While braiding, I used a little Giovanni Smooth as Silk conditioner before doing each braid (you can use any conditioner, leave-in, or setting lotion/spray you wish). On my first  successful set, I actually used Lustrasilk Olive Oil Cholesterol which came out great as well. It wasn’t really as heavy as I thought, but gave just enough weight and shine to my curl. I washed my hair the next day though, so I’ll have to experiment with this to see if it creates too much build-up with continual use each night.

*You can probably seal your ends with any oil (shea, coconut, etc) – I didn’t this time, b/c my hair was already laden with coconut oil (my hair absorbs the stuff!)

6. I also washed my hair the day before. I found that I prefer to do my braid-outs on freshly clean, but dry hair. I may try it on wet hair now that I’ve found something that works, but I’m not in a rush since I’m digging this method. Plus, my hair takes forever to dry.

7. Just tie your head up with a scarf or sleep on a satin pillow case and you should be fine!

SIDE BAR: the mistake I made the first time, was sleeping with these bad boys in! Please don’t! I now leave the perm rods in only before bed, by the time I’m ready to sleep the braids have had enough time to set into curled ends.  So, out they come!

The thing I love about this set, is that it is quick and I can do it messily (as you’ll see in the pics)! As long as you’ve got the hair braided, the neatness of parts and all that other ish doesn’t matter. This is a roller set I’ve always dreamed of! lol

Here are pics of the process described above:

1. Parted (if you’d like to call it that) into 4 sections, to get the hair out of my way.

2. Hair set, in the direction I want my hair to lay.

3. Finished Product, fluffed and all that stuff

4. Threw on a headband b/c I usually get tired of hair in my face

5. Back

The End.

:: Hope this helps ::

Filed under: My Hair, Uncategorized

7 Responses

  1. I’m with u, I prefer the braid out look on my hair. I usually braid it right after washing but will try it on dry hair to see what happens. Thanks for the tip. Love your hair-do

    • blackstrands says:

      Thanks :)

      go for it! now I’m wondering what the wet braid-out will look like… I just know my hair, and it would prob still be wet when I took it down, which = a frizzed up hairstyle as it dries throughout the day. lol

      I prob could sit under the dryer. but I usually just let my hair dry for a whole day, wear a puff – then style the next day.

  2. it looks absolutely beautiful! I love it, thanks for the post

    http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com

  3. Buy Articles says:

    I appreciate you for hosting such a wonderful weblog. Your weblog was not only informative but also very artistic too. We find a limited number of professionals who can think to create technical articles that creatively. All of us keep searching for content with regard to a subject like this. I Myself went over dozens of blogs to come across knowledge with regard to this.Looking to many more from your site !!

  4. [...] on this one – Twist ‘n Curl – Curly Nikki set the standard with her signature style – Braid n’ Curl – Balckstrands gives great step-by-step instructions – Wash ‘n Go – Shida Natural [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

