BLACKSTRANDS

Dani’s Do it or Lose it List: NATURAL OILS

->

Whipped Shea Butter....mmmmm :->

Ladies, please DROP KICK every jar of hair grease that comes into your line of sight! lol

But seriously, hair grease is not a good look. I’ve always hated its scent and consistency growing up, but I didn’t really know at the time how bad hair grease is for your hair!

The products to look for when shopping are those that contain natural oils. Natural Oils, such as olive oil, jojoba oil, coconut oil and shea butter, are always best to use when oiling your hair (or scalp), they’re also great for your skin too. You should always be on the hunt for these essential oils. The higher up these oils are on the “key ingredients” list, the better.

Hair greases :O< on the other hand, are packed full of mineral oil and petrolatum (also known as petroleum) which clog your pores and steal moisture from the hair. ALOT of hair products use these ingredients as cheap fillers. So always turn the can/jar/ bottle of whatever it is you are using around and read the ingredients list!

oliveoil1

Olive Oil

Filed under: Dani's Do it or Lose it List, Top Posts, , ,

5 Responses

  1. Maryama says:

    Yes!!! Thank you Dani for exposing the travesty of hair grease. I have been on a crusade for the past year tryna get black women offa grease. Not only are the strong smells too extravagent at times, all that petrolatum attracts dust and dirt quickly– just infesting our lovely crowns with yuck…

    oils are so much better, almond oil is nice for the hair too. I like those “Doo Gro” products.

    xoxo

  2. ~Back to Curly~ says:

    I really do cringe when I walk into a supply store now and see all the grease:-( . Even as a kid my mom used to use DAX on my hair…I swear if I close my eyes for a split second…I could smell it!

    • Danielle says:

      DAX… the red wax??
      I actually used that in high school…lol I’m surprised my hair didnt catch on fire when i curled it!

  3. hidaya says:

    Actually Crisco, yes, the white and creamy whipped hydrogenated fat is great for our hair. I love it!

Leave a Reply

