BLACKSTRANDS

Good Vitamins for Great Hair

flickr/ Chelsea

flickr/ Chelsea

Let’s face it ladies, a huge factor that contributes to hair (and physical) health is consuming proper amounts of nutrients and vitamins in your diet– and reducing stress levels.

While I don’t believe there are any magic vitamins that will help give you commercial or Rapunzel hair (anyone can achieve “great” hair IMO, but it takes a combination of proper hair care regimens and healthy eating/fitness)- I do think that taking vitamins can be a great method of maintaining healthy tresses and promoting  hair growth. Aside from the obvious benefits to your overall health, I thought it’d be helpful to share some info I found on ezinearticles.com about great vitamins for hair help:

The necessary vitamins that aid in promoting healthy hair are:

vitamin A (produces healthy sebum in the scalp)

vitamin C (antioxidant)

vitamin E (improves scalp circulation)

Biotin (produces Keratin)

Inositol (keeps hair follicles healthy)

Niacin (promotes scalp circulation)

Pantothenic acid, para-Aminobenzoic Acid, vitamin B6 and vitamin B12 prevent graying and hair loss.

The most common food-based sources of these vitamins are: citrus fruits, green vegetables, fruits like pineapple, strawberries, kiwi, potatoes, green peppers, vegetable oils, soybean, raw seeds, dried beans, wheat germ oil, brewer’s yeast, whole grains, eggs, liver, rice, milk, fish, turkey, chicken and red meat.

Also, one thing to keep in mind, DON’T overdue it on the vitamins!! Certain vitamins (like Vit. A in particular) can be hazardous, or even toxic, if taken without care. But for most people, the stress and bustle of daily life keeps us on the opposite end of the spectrum –> we’re probably lacking proper levels of certain nutrients and vitamins in our diet.

As for me? I’m currently taking Vitamin B-12 (when I remember) to help give me that extra metabolic/energy boost throughout the day. Sometimes I also take Vitamin C during the winter months to ward of those annoying colds!

Want to read more of the article? Follow the link  –>  Vitamins for Healthy Hair

Filed under: Uncategorized, ,

2 Responses

  1. Kendra says:

    I so need to get some good vitamins. I’m just scared of taking the really big ones that you have to swallow. I’m not a fan of that. But thanks for making a post about this. I really needed to find out what helps hair to grow.

    • blackstrands says:

      Its crazy that you say that, because I just started taking the Centrum Women’s multivitamin and I was NOT expecting those pills to be so big!

      they’re like horse pills or something. lol
      I’ve taken B12 in the past, but those vitamins were not nearly as big.

      But I will say after taking the pills for only about 2 days, I noticed a difference in my energy (and my joints – which is why I started taking them).

      As far as the hair growth, I’ll have to keep an eye out since I’ve only been taking these pills for less than a week.

Leave a Reply

