BLACKSTRANDS

My Simplified Regimen

DeJay/ flickr

DeJay/ flickr

The pic above really does reflect the ridiculousness that was becoming my hair product collection. While I was packing my things to leave NY and head  to VA for the summer, I realized how many products I had…

sick and sad.

But really, one thing I am proud to say, is that over the last couple of months I have started to focus myself and develop a pretty basic hair care regimen.

Now, I won’t go as far as to say that places like Sephora and Ricky’s  don’t excite me…but you get the picture :O)

Also, the fact that I’m working out more – and its so hot and humid outside – has made it easier for me to bring it back to the basics.

Here’s a simple breakdown of what I do every week:

1.  Shampoo once a week with Carol’s Daughter-  Black Vanilla Herbal Shampoo

2. Co-wash (wash with only conditioner) 2-3 times a week (or as needed depending on my workouts).  I cleanse my hair with a V05 Moisture Milk conditioner (less than $2 no matter where u get it), rinse out and then detangle with my Denman brush with a thicker conditioner in my hair (I LOVE Organix – Coconut Milk Conditioner and Herbal Essence – Hello Hydration)

3. I rinse the conditioner out,  then apply Extra Virgin Coconut Oil to my hair and massage in scalp while my hair is still wet.

FYI – I’ve put my aunt and sister on the coconut oil bandwagon. lol Out of all the natural oils I’ve tried so far,  I can honestly say my hair loves this one the most.

4. I usually let me hair air dry and set it in a protective style/bun or I may (occasionally) blow dry if I’m in a rush or its not warm enough for me to walk out of the house with damp hair.

And that’s it!!  The rest of my products are great (well some of them), but I have to admit that this simple routine is working for me….and I’ve been noticing a lot more growth/length retention in giving myself a routine to stick to.

:: Hope this helps ::

Filed under: Uncategorized

One Response

  1. […] My regimen is really very simple, and I find that the less I do — the better! […]

Leave a Reply

