BLACKSTRANDS

Coconut Milk: Quick Hair Repair

sybren stuvel/ flickr

sybren stuvel/ flickr

Okay, some of you are probably sick and tired of me ranting and raving about…pretty much all things coconut lol

But please just grin and bare it – my intentions are in your hair’s good interest :)

SO, last week I really really wanted to go swimming, and actually had lots of fun in the water….

my hair, on the other hand, looked shot to hell.

I honestly was kind of surprised at how bad the chlorine jacked me up. I did attempt to take some preventative measure by drenching my hair in conditioner before the swim. But this clearly wasn’t enough. lol

I’m far from anti-water (unless I’ve just straightened, which is rare), so I refused to go with a cap on – besides, they come off anyways. Maybe it’s because I was so used to the great moisture and softness I’ve been getting with my extra virgin coconut oil, but when I got out of the pool I was immediately displeased to say the least :O(

All I can say is thank goodness I had an unopened can of coconut milk sitting in my cabinet!

I hadn’t ever tried the milk before (just coconut oil), but my tangled-up lifeless mat of a head gave me some motivation to reach out and try something new!  lol

I mixed one can of coconut milk (I get mine for 99 cents at the Indian grocer/shop near me), with one of my fav conditioners – Herbal Essence Hello Hydration- and put on a plastic shower cap for about 15 minutes.

When I stepped out of the shower from rinsing, it was kinda like that Robin Thicke song “Magic” lol

Seriously, I will now be using coconut milk for deep conditioning treatments every week (or on an as needed basis).

I really do love coconuts.

:: Grow on ::

Filed under: Uncategorized

15 Responses

  1. jiya says:

    yay, I’m doing research on coconut milk and coconut water. I havent permed my hair in four months and I am just falling in love with my natural hair again….thinking about cutting off the chemical six times per year and reduce is to two or three instead. Been hearing alot of raves about coconut milk and the water also…I’m eager to try. I cant seem to find virgin coconut oil anywhere though.

    • blackstrands says:

      more power to you chica, if you do decide to do the big chop!

      And do you have a Vitamin Shoppe anywhere near you (they have TONS of brands of virgin coconut oil)?
      They also may carry the oil in health food stores in your area….

      let me know, and if not you could always order offline – even if the oil melts its still just as good for you!

      :O)

      good luck

  2. c0uleur says:

    I have a question, I tried to keep coconut milk but I didn’t know it spoiled easily. I was cowashing with it, and it does wonders for my hair. Though when it spoiled, half of it was still somewhat okay, so I used it anyway. Can I actually use it even if it’s still spoiled? I’m not sure but I think it worked better when I had used it partially spoiled, but again, I’m not sure. I tried to google this and one site looked like it said that it was still good, but the page wouldn’t load. Do you know?

    • blackstrands says:

      hmmmm….my immediate response would have been not to use it, esp if your for sure its spoiled (partially or otherwise). But after googling it myself I was starting to see otherwise. lol

      and I believe that dead link you came across was the same one I wanted to read myself?! (the LHCF link??….those ladies know whats up!)

      I’ll def have to get back to you on that…but I would think the main concern would just be the smell…

  3. Janine says:

    I was wondering if 100% Pure Coconut milk could go for a protein treatment once a month.

    Cause I think i’m allergic to coconut cause I only get a burning feelin when drinking a soda from it. Plus I get huge bumps on my skin within a few mins after i used a body butter with this as an ingredient years ago.

    But I hope that I can still use it on my hair cause in a product i used to use there was also coconut il in it , plus the scent and i didnt get any allergic reaction whatsoever, the only thing though is that my hair became hard and stiff cause back then i didnt understand i was overusing it.

  4. shash says:

    hi! is coconut milk with lemon juice makes your hair straight? hmmm wondering :))

    • blackstrands says:

      Well, I have heard that coconut milk and lime can loosen one’s curl pattern – but the results have been varying from what I’ve heard of it.
      I’ve never tried the combo though, so I can’t say yay or nay!

  5. shash says:

    oh! thanx for your immediate response! :o)

  6. Trester says:

    hey u know what I think I did something wrong lol
    I use fresh coconut milk, so yeah, it spoil my hair badly I heard I am not suppose to use fresh one, probably a tinned/ box one is better and must put in the fridge?
    for now, my hair is not soft, not smooth and greasy, I need to fix it, any help?

    • blackstrands says:

      Hi Trester,

      Not sure about the coconut milk being too fresh – but the only kind I’ve used has always been in a tin can. (Like the kind people use when they are baking or cooking -its in the grocery store).

      Not sure what the problem is exactly from what you said, but if you’re hair feels greasy and you’d like a bit more softness and smoothness, I would DEF try clarifying with an Apple Cider Vinegar/Water mix.

      Just do a search at the bar for “ACV” or “Apple Cider Vinegar.” This helps seal your cuticle and also gets rid of buildup. Hope this helps!

    • alexiofiel says:

      I’ve always had great result with fresh coconut milk

  7. mangomadness says:

    I love coconut milk! I use it to DC w/ added honey, EVOO and EVCO.

  8. Yasmine says:

    Hi does it make a big difference I I were to use a fresh one(manually squeeze the milk) or just buy from the ready made ones?

  9. ebony says:

    umm my hair is relaxed sooo what happens if put coconut milk in my hair?

Leave a Reply

