BLACKSTRANDS

Damage Defense: Protective Styling

I’m in my 9 month of being relaxer/chemical free, and I think the two things that have saved me from unbearable detangling sessions and breaking hair (because of frequent handling of two different textures) are :

1. Keeping my hair moisturized (From frequent co-washing and natural oils)

2. Protective styling my hair

And since I’ve probably talked you all to death about numero uno, I’ll expound a bit on what has worked for ME concerning protective styling.

While there are TONS of protective styles that transitioning ladies and even relaxed heads can do to help promote length retention, (think braid outs, twist outs, flexi rods, etc). My true blue means of protection has been this little quickie updo pictured below :O)

SDC10716 (2)

SDC10704

You can actually see where the natural texture stops and the chemically straightened hair takes up (about an 1 in or so past my head band).

One reason why I love this style is because its my WHAM, BAM, GOODBYE style.

I literally brush my edges (add some gel for definition and shine), roll up/twist my hair in the back, clip it and GO!

Easy as that.

Now please believe I have experimented a lot with other protective styles…but I think this is my fav for now b/c I KNOW how it will come out…and its quickest. lol

The moral of this hair story??

Knowledge and know-how is great, but sometimes you gotta do what works for you!

:: Grow Happy ::

Filed under: My Hair, Uncategorized

9 Responses

  1. Monique says:

    Hi, Your hair looks so soft and moisturized. What kind of moisturizers do you use?
    Thanks.

    • blackstrands says:

      Hi Monique,

      Thanks :O)

      I definitely have to attribute the softness and moisture to the virgin coconut oil I use after every wash (while my hair is still wet).
      This makes my new growth a lot more manageable and it also keeps my hair from getting hard – since I use gel (always alcohol free – LeKair, IC Fantasia or Ecostyler) for brushing/smoothing down my edges with a large boar bristle brush.

      the coconut oil acts as both a moisturizer and a sealant- which is great, so it helps to seal in the moisture from my conditioners while penetrating/moisturizing the hair shaft at the same time. As for my conditioners…. I rotate since there’s a lot of them, so hold on tight lol ….

      Organix “Coconut Milk” Conditioner
      Herbal Essence “Totally Twisted” (or “Hello Hydration”)
      V05 (any conditioner from the Moisture Milks line)
      Karen’s Body Beautiful hair milk
      Garnier Fructis “Sleek and Shine”

      Since I can’t contribute the moisture to just one from the list…I think its a combination of frequent co-washing and the coconut oil since they both provide moisture, and the oil helps to seal it in my hair.

      hope this helps!

  2. Jiya says:

    You’re very pretty :)

  3. Janine says:

    Would you care to share other protective styles with us?

    Cause the only thing I do lately is twisting my hair but I’m kind of sick of the style and looking for something new.

    • blackstrands says:

      to be honest, I dont really do too many protective styles b/c they can be pretty time consuming (compared to the style I mentioned in the post).

      I’ve experimented quite a bit, but I don’t have a lot of patience for them right now – I like my styles quick and to the point….although I have tried perm rods which I like (but they also take quite a bit of time in my opinion).

      But for the time being, you could check out motowngirl.com
      and curlynikki.com – both of these sites offer great instructions and ideas for protective styles.

      hope this helps

  4. […] in case you forgot, I was mainly wearing my hair in a protective style (or occasionally straight). I did experiment with different curly styles while transitioning, but I […]

  5. […] I’m praying I’ll be able to do my protective updo on curly hair by spring/summer as well. Right now I can only get my layered hair in the front to […]

  6. […] curls in the front popping back up! I have been trying about a zillion different ways to get my protective updo to lay down when my hair is in it’s natural state, but I would have to use bobby pins or […]

Leave a Reply

