BLACKSTRANDS

THE BIG CHOP

bfick/ flickr

bfick/ flickr

You know what time it is.

Next week I’m cutting off my dead hair. I call it “dead” because after I wash it, it just hangs there– limp, boring and weighing down my natural texture.

It’s time for a relaxer free chapter. All or nothing.

I contemplated transitioning for a lot longer, but over the last couple of months I’ve been wanting more options.

Plus, now that I’m back in NY, there’s so many salons I want to try that I’ve been curious about.

I have an appointment at Anthony Dickey’s Hair Rules Salon and I’m not only excited, but I’m ready to do this.

I could do the big chop my self, but I don’t want to. I want to do it big, and treat myself to an awesome cut so my hair will have an awesome start (being fully natural, for the first time in a long time).

I’m not sure of the exact date of my last chemical relaxer, but I guesstimate that it’s been about 11 months. Almost a year, and I think I have a fair amount of hair to work with. It’s time to celebrate.

I’ll keep this post short and sweet.

Look out for hair updates next Tues or Wed, plus my salon review!

Can’t wait to share :)

Filed under: Uncategorized, , ,

4 Responses

  1. ~Back to Curly~ says:

    Good Luck, can’t wait to hear what your experience was like!!

  2. Angela says:

    YAAYYY!!!! I can’t wait to see pics!!!

  3. Tiffany says:

    Niiiiiiice! im getting to that point of wanting to be completely natural again but I have only been transitioning for six months..can’t wait to see your hair!

Leave a Reply

