BLACKSTRANDS

BIG CHOP RESULTS!!

jk5854

flickr/ jk5854

I really am estatic with the results.

Not only am I wondering why I was ever worried to do the big chop, but I’m ridiculously happy that a weight has been lifted off my shoulders. The entire experience really was freeing.

For now, I’m just going to post up the results because I really am tired. I need some sleep!

But for the record- I luvs me some Anthony Dickey. He loves natural hair and it shows in his workmanship. I was having so much fun, that by the time he started cutting my hair I barely realized it.

I know that sounds crazy, but its true. All the nervousness was gone. I was ready.

Here are some pics after the cut:

He used products from his Hair Rules line, of course – the cleansing cream, quench deep conditioner, Curly Whip, and a finishing cream. I bought the Curly Whip because it really is the truth. It gives me hold, without the hardness of most gels (even alcohol free ones). All the other products were great, but to be honest, they’re pricey and my at- home products work just fine, thank you very much. lol

To make a long story short, the style was achieved by a good cut, and the Curly Whip product on wet hair. The trick is to not mess with your hair while it’s wet. The way your kinks or curls look at this time, is how they will dry if you leave them alone.

Dickey also carries another product, kinky curling cream that may be ideal for your texture, if you think Curly Whip isn’t your cup of tea.

All I need to do is get under a hooded dryer (or use a diffuser if short on time), then fluff my curls out and go.

SDC11168

SDC11160

SDC11180

SDC11174


Just in case you forgot, I was mainly wearing my hair in a protective style (or occasionally straight). I did experiment with different curly styles while transitioning, but I honestly thought my straight ends always stood out from the rest of my hair, no matter how I styled it.

Maybe I didn’t have enough patience, maybe I was being too picky – but at the time, I didn’t have a problem with pulling my hair back, so it wasn’t really a big deal or issue for me

BUT THAT’S ALL A THING OF THE PAST. I can honestly say that I’m even more in love with my hair, now that I’m fully natural…and this is only the beginning.

The whole experience was like a breath of fresh air and I’m actually surprised with the growth I retained in 11 months. Not bad.

The cut helped me see that I was really getting somewhere.

Although this definitely marks a new chapter,  there’s still plenty more growth and progress in store.

:: Grow on ::

Filed under: My Hair, Uncategorized

8 Responses

  1. ~Back to Curly~ says:

    Bee-U-TI-FULL!! Glad to see Dickey does a good job with a pair of sheers! Enjoy the new do my dear, it looks good on you;-)!

  2. Tiffany says:

    Beautiful! Good for you! =)

  3. Stacey says:

    congratulations!

  4. blackstrands says:

    Thanks Ladies!
    It feels good to have a fresh start, so to speak :)

  5. Shelvasha says:

    Your blog is amazing! Congrats on the Big Chop!

  6. Solome says:

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Go head Dani, maybe you’ll go as short as me one day!! ;)

    • blackstrands says:

      lol I really thought about going as short as a pixie cut (I wouldn’t rule it out for the future) but, as of now, I’m obsessed with big curls!

      My mission now is to grow!

  7. […] of the things I have to show you though,  is pics of starting point length. As you know, I did the big chop a little over a month ago and am 100 percent natural. While I am in love with my newly natural […]

Leave a Reply

