BLACKSTRANDS

The Journey Begins – Again

Stuck in Customs

Stuck in Customs/ Flickr

I know, I know – I’ve been away too long.

All I have to say is grad school and two jobs is a quick way to run yourself ragged! I can’t wait until the holidays.

But even though you haven’t heard much from me, I’ve had lots to say!

One of the things I have to show you though,  is pics of my starting point length. As you know, I did the big chop a little over a month ago and am 100 percent natural. While I am in love with my newly natural locks, I wanted to share a big mistake I made while straightening…

I half-assed it with the blow-drying.

It is imperative that you straighten natural hair as much as possible while drying. You can do this through a number of methods. Stretching your hair while drying it over night (twist, knots, banding), blow-drying with a comb attachment or a Deman brush, and the list goes on. I should have known better, but my hair was still semi curly after I blew it out quickly. This is why it took 3 hours for me to straighten my hair. I had issues when the iron got  to my ends, where my curls just sat.

So, while my hair came out pretty nice – I had to learn the long, hard way to prep my natural hair before I even attempt to pass a flat iron through it.

Anyways, here are the results.

Keep in mind, this is my starting point! 100 percent natural- 12 months worth of growth.

I’m still getting used to it being shorter, but I’m sure I’ll retain more length now that my transition is over.

I actually think I’ve noticed that its grown a bit since I got it cut last month. As you’ll see, there’s no color left in my hair- it all got cut out.

straight 1

straight 2

straight - back

pony

My little pony. lol

So here’s my official starting point – more to come, so hang tight!

:: Grow on ::

Filed under: My Hair, Uncategorized

3 Responses

  1. me :-) says:

    It looks Great Dani!!! It only gets better from here. xo

  2. Milena says:

    Friggin fab and shiny!!!! LOOOOOVVIN IT!!!

  3. blackstrands says:

    Thanks Ladies!
    It’s great to get a fresh start :)

Leave a Reply

